Pinky Lai - 987 Cayman Designer - Interview May 2020

Slightly strange 'interview'.........and he looked a little nonplussed with it all at times if i'm honest.

But some interesting thoughts and musings from THE man none the less:

Had the same feeling too, but then again, being a car designer myself I can guarantee we are all weird  😅 It's like a common trait of car designer, living in a mystical/utopian bubble with our minds running way too fast and full of ideas.  Would't call it a job, it's almost a "way of living life". Hope this explains a bit.

Nonetheless a great designer! 

1 hour ago, Andrea said:

Had the same feeling too, but then again, being a car designer myself I can guarantee we are all weird  😅 It's like a common trait of car designer, living in a mystical/utopian bubble with our minds running way too fast and full of ideas.  Would't call it a job, it's almost a "way of living life". Hope this explains a bit.

Nonetheless a great designer! 

^^^Really interesting !

I can well see how being given free rein as-such; leads you to become self absorbed / scoffing of others at times  / absorbed in yourself and your own ideas blah blah blah. I also get the impression his character is one of being pretty single minded in the views he has. As do the traits of top sportsman - and many-many others at the top of their own particular game. (And having played sport professionally for 15 years in a previous life - im aware of the importance of self belief, blocking out others etc more than most perhaps).

A topic i could run-on endlessly about.

But for now i'll agree to agree it's an iconic design for sure.

Cheers, 

He seemed a bit like "I can't be bother today" unfortunately! 

Have a look at a speech from people like Chris Bangle (ex BMW chief designer) to have a completely different approach to explaining car design! Pure passion....

Here an example: