ownership longevity

Dan Getson

HI Folks,  I have been admiring the Cayman for several years, and I thought '19 might finally be the year I could get one!   I've been researching/following a LOT of different ones on line.  

When I look up a lot of the CarFax reports - it seems that the trend is VERY RARELY will any of these owners keep the car for more than 2-3 years???  I'm wondering -- what are they figuring out after a year or two that they didn't realize when they took it for their first test drive!?!?     I love the way they drive, but I'm not going to race it.  Probably won't show it either.  I Just want a nice sporty car to drive 5,000 miles/year instead of my work pickup truck. 

Is this a GOOD CAR for THAT??? Thanks. 

Dan G.

Dan; the short answer is that Caymans are great at what you're looking to use a car for....and many other things! Yes, many people turn them over...often they brand swap as well (eg from from a Cayman to an M3 to a TT RS to an AMG Merc etc)....let's face it, most purchasers of a new Porsche these days are buying the brand rather than the experience ....driving fun, joy of ownership etc aren't of appeal compared to having a certain badge on the drive way. It's a much smaller proportion of us that choose a car that we really like and want to keep, invest in, and use as it was intended. Sad indication of the way things are going; more people see cars as "transport", rather than anything more

• Like 1

Agree with Craig - I also think that if you're unlucky the bills can stack up quite quickly which may encourage some people to move a car on - or changes in lifestyle, as its only a 2 seater.  I've had mine for a year and a half and it still feels new to me, and have every intention to keep it for quite some time yet!  

• Like 1