House Self Build

• Founder

So we're looking to embark on a self build for our next house.  We currently live in a converted barn which has fantastic views and lots of interesting features, however it also has its down sides and so we'd like to build something from scratch to suit ourselves.  

I'm completely new to anything having never built more than a 'space station'  from old cardboard boxes, however my dad is relatively well qualified to advise on the actual build and project management.  

E73E4E31-27DB-4706-857C-1FB35504DD39_zps

It's the first steps however that I'm intrigued about, so many questions, like can you call the local planners and have normal conversations with them? How do you find a piece of land and know if it will get PP or is it trial and error? Do you try and draw the house yourself and ask an architect to turn it into something of substance or take a Potton type of ready designed house... 

Went to the Self Build centre in Swindon today which was interesting but absolutely nobody on hand to talk to which was weird I thought, it was practically empty! 

Anybody here undertaken a self build project?

I've never done a self build, but like the idea. With regard to getting permission, or even having a discussion with planners, then this can vary from council to council. Wiltshire planners were unwilling to discuss anything without receiving an 'outline' application and fee whereas my local borough council provide a 'duty officer' service where you can go for an informal chat with planners.

Some areas are classed as 'designated countryside' where getting planning permission can be difficult but 'he who dares wins' and in my area I've seen several cases of people buying land to set-up agricultural/equestrian businesses and then applying for permission for a mobile home and eventually a 4+ bedroom house.

These days I think a lot of people use planning professionals to submit their application and deal with the planning authorities.