Clutch failure?

Windymiller

987.2 manual. 

Clutch pedal feel suddenly went light, biting point in 1st gear from a standing start is now very high, and the clutch seems to ‘drop in’ to engagement, rather than progressively ‘take up’ engagement. 

Ive never had a clutch ‘go’ on me / experience clutch failure, so I’ve no experience of what it actually feels like / what happens. 

CP4L have a Sachs clutch kit @ £357 in their current sale, which seems reasonable. 

Is that a decent OEM replacement? I don’t want to fit a shonky ‘made of chocolate’ generic part, but not do I want to get fleeced by an OPC for an OE part that’s just the same part, but twice the price in a Porsche box (a la Textar pads, etc...). 😏🤨

Whats a sensible labour time for replacement - 2/3 hrs?

i think I’ll use DS Automotive in Aylesbury as they’re the nearest Porsche Indy to me (and I’ve wanted to try them out for a while). 🤔

• Sad 1

Oh dear 😞

I've had two (Non Porsche) clutches 'go'. One friction plate semi / fully-disintegrated many years ago whilst on the move - and i couldn't engage any gears at all and was 'stranded'. The other started to break up on my daily a year or so ago; and clutch was juddering trying to crawl / pull away, not smooth at all and engaging gears was becoming more difficult.

Can't comment on Sachs clutch-kit quality. But there's quite a few Sachs 'kits' much lower-priced than that on ebay having just looked..... ??

Just for my own knowledge; i'm also interested in labour time for fitting.

Good luck !

Edited by sevenfourate

Cheers 748 👍🏻

Design911 has the Sachs kit for £306, which is better priced. 

Ive found a few of the Indy garages with clutch replacements advertised between £600-800 ‘all in’ (parts, fitting, VAT). So I’m guesstimating 3 hrs of labour. The exhaust needs to come off to get to the clutch. 😳