987.1 - S or not?

Hi, newbie here on lookout for my first Porsche.

Having read around loads over the past few weeks, I feel I know where I stand with any potential bore scoring issues with the 3.4 - so I don't want to turn this thread in a debate on what the issue is etc - it's more about the nagging feeling in the back of my mind that a 3.4 I bought could have issues. So - what I'm torn on is whether I'd feel like I 'missed out' by getting a 2.7, or would the worry in the back of my mind about the 3.4 would make me feel like I should have opted for the 2.7?

I'd usually opt to get the 'top' model wherever I can, so I don't get that feeling like I'm missing out - but in this case my head is telling me the 2.7 is a better fit for me...

Engine power aside, is there much driving differences with the 2.7 (brakes/suspension)? 

I know ultimately it's my decision, but would just like to gauge other peoples thoughts on this.

I would test drive both to really know!

I also own a 350z GT HR Convertible & I had a similar dilemma... I test drove the lesser powered 276bhp version & the newer 313bhp version... No brainer for me as there was a noticeable difference in torque & seat of the pants feeling & I knew I would miss the extra grunt! ... The price difference was 2.5k...

Guess you have to decide if potential engine issues with the S is a big enough worry :35_thinking:

Bought my CS just over 2yrs ago with 61k & now on 66k... No issues for me so far but I know I would of always thought I'd have missed the extra grunt with a 2.7 Base :35_thinking:

Edited by Mavrik

Thanks for the replies both. 

@sevenfourate - what if any handling differences did you see between the 2? I guess I could always change the suspension anyway. 

As regards to the likelihood of an issue - to be honest it's more the worry about any potential issue that's my big concern. Am I going to be reluctant to drive it incase I have an issue?