Retro fit an LSD

andygo

Has anyone got any experience of this?

Is it best to buy a gearbox with one in or buy a diff and fit it.

There doesn't seem to be much info on how they work. I assume its not a plate type diff and probably a Thorsen gear type. How 'tight' are they?

For example in my previous life as a rally driver, I had diffs that if you launched the car with one wheel on,say, a grass verge and the other driven wheel on the tarmac, 99% of the drive would go to the tarmac,(leaving rubber) where a free diff would merely spin the tyre on the grass with little forward motion.

Where does a Porsche Diff sit in that performance envelope?

Are they worth fitting as I am looking to hillclimb and sprint my 997.2 S?

Costs?

I can't speak for the factory fit LSD but most of the online opinion on it is less than complimentary.

https://www.planet-9.com/threads/the-cayman-factory-lsd-dissected.44005/

I had a Wavetrac TBD fitted to my car and I am pleased with it, not that the car ever really struggled for traction with it's open diff but it does help on track, the other byproduct seems to be some of the slack removed from the drivetrain, throttle response feels better too.

Thats a really illuminating article re the standard chocolate diffs.

Thanks for the 987s track car linky as well Rich!

• Founder
1 hour ago, Andyoz said:

Has anyone found that their LSD's introduced some understeer?

yes, when I changed from a Cayman S to an R, I thought it was very noticeable and irritated the hell out of me.  You can dial it out though, the main reason a lot of CR owners add spacers to the front and max the camber to liven the rear end up again.  

If you’re adding an aftermarket LSD though it will depend on which one you go for and how strong they are as to how much it will affect understeer.