Newly painted centre console

Painted console. Pffffft. Who'd do that 😂

Sounds about the right money for a nice job - as we already discussed i think.

Looks REALLY well buddy. ENJOY !!

• Like 1

Wouldn't it have been easier/faster/cheaper to have had it sandblasted rather than keying it down by hand?

Does look good though - this is one of my favourite things about the CR.

2 hours ago, Aaron said:

Wouldn't it have been easier/faster/cheaper to have had it sandblasted rather than keying it down by hand?

Does look good though - this is one of my favourite things about the CR.

I’ve no experience in such matters, but I presume the issue is potentially blasting away the actual plastic and/or damaging it 🤔

7 hours ago, Windymiller said:

I’ve no experience in such matters, but I presume the issue is potentially blasting away the actual plastic and/or damaging it 🤔

Valid point.  I've experience of sandblasting soft metals but not ABS plastic... It could crumble into dust during the process - this is quite likely a possibility! 

• Poo 1

3 hours ago, Aaron said:

Valid point.  I've experience of sandblasting soft metals but not ABS plastic... It could crumble into dust during the process - this is quite likely a possibility! 

That would not have been the best outcome 😮🥺🙃

It’s lasted 4 days without a scratch so far... 😉👍🏻

I hope it’s as robust a finish as the factory fitted colour coded pieces (cup holder and gear gaitor trim, all the bits round the rear speakers and ‘grab bar’ behind the seats). 

I presume the finish is as good as the prep work underneath and longevity / wearability of the clear coat over it... 🤔🤷‍♂️

My Cayman has wear marks from sun cream and the plastic coating is peeling off, looks awful!

Looking good there mate, did this include them removing the centre console or did you remove yourself?

I need this doing ASAP, also considering getting mine wrapped

Also im only 10 miles from MK! 

Edited by Craig Bradley